E-Newsletter for members
Published monthly
Nr. 2 - September 2005

Editor : Anne Rougemont
Tel. 022 / 379 64 99
Back to the summary Awards

Prof. René Flükiger awarded by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity
On September 19th, Prof. René Flükiger received an IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) Award for 'significant and sustained contributions to applied superconductivity'. The ceremony took place in Genoa, Italy, at the International Conference on Magnet Technology. Prof. Flükiger was presented with an inscribed plaque and a medallion, made of niobium, recognizing his selection for this very prestigious award.
More information here]

Prof. René Flükiger will officially retire at the end of this month, but as he explains in an interview, will continue his work within MaNEP. Among other achievements, Prof. Flükiger is the architect of a successful ongoing industrial collaboration with Bruker Biospin [
also read here].

Dr Sebastian Pilgram receives the IBM Award of the Swiss Physical Society
Sebastian PilgramAs we learn in the last SPS Bulletin, Sebastian Pilgram is this year's recipient of the IBM Award of the SPS for a new theoretical approach providing a semi-classical theory which determines the conductance, shot noise and all higher order current-correlations of small electrical conductors. This work was done while at the Department of theoretical physics in Geneva. Dr Pilgram is now part of the Mobile Postdoc Program of MaNEP. As such, he works on a joint project with Prof. Manfred Sigrist at ETHZ and Prof. Frédéric Mila [also read here] at EPFL.

[For details, download the last SPS News in PDF]

Top of the page

Download this E-Newsletter in PDF