MaNEP Switzerland
Exploring electronic materials of the future
MaNEP
Home
Profile
Research
Industry
Education
Publications
Events



Scientific Awards

2012

  • Janphuang Pattanaphong is appointed Best student paper award at PowerMEMS 2012, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Fiebig Manfred is nominated APS Fellowship, Boston, USA
  • Thierry Giamarchi is nominated Distinguished Referee of EPL, Suisse
  • Christof Niedermayer, is nominated Visiting Professorship, University of Connecticut, USA
  • Kanter Jakob receives the Best Poster Award, The 19th Intern. Conf. on Magnetism, Busan, Korea
  • Sagarna Leyre gets the DTG Preis, Freburg Breisgau

2011

  • René Flukiger gets the Life Achivement Award from the International Cryogenic Materials Conference, USA
  • Leander Schulz receives the IBM Prize of the Swiss Physical Society
  • Matthias Troyer obtains an ERC Advanced Grant
  • Gianni Blatter appointed Outstanding Referee by the American Physical Society
  • Don Isarakon receives the Prix de la Ville de la Chaux-de-Fonds 2011
  • Pierre Bouillot gets the Prix J. Wurth pour la meilleure thèse en Physique
  • Christof Niedermayer is nominated Visiting Professor of Connecticut University
  • Manfred Sigrist is nominated Fellow by the American Physical Society
  • Pavlo Zubko receives the ISIF 2011 Presentation Prize, Cambridge, UK
  • Angelika Veziridis gets the Prize Artikel of the year – Energy 2.0 Kompendium Neue Materialien für Thermoelektrische Generatoren
  • Lassi Karvonen obtains the Poster Award of the International Discussion Meeting on Thermoelectrics and Related Functional Materials, Finland
  • Anke Weidenkaff receives the Kavli Foundation Award, Fred Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanoscience, Nice, France
  • David Schmidiger obtains the ETH Medal and the Willi Studer Prize for his Master Thesis, Zurich

2010

  • Danick Briand receives the Eurosensors Fellowship Award
  • Øystein Fischer is nominated as a member of honor of the Swiss Physical Society
  • Ying Zhou gets the Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad
  • Ying Zhou receives the Chemistry Travel Award
  • Ying Zhou gets the T. S. Ke Research Fellowship prize
  • Sigrun Köster receives the Subside tremplin of Geneva's University
  • Thierry Giamarchi appointed Outstanding Referee of The American Physical Society
  • Philipp Werner gets the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics
  • Erik van Heumen awarded with the SPS Prize for Condensed Matter Physics, sponsored by IBM
  • Martin Mourigal receives the Director's award for best student presentation
  • L. Forro is elected to the Croatian Academy of Sciences

2009


2008

  • Prof. René Flükiger appointed guest Professor at the Institute of Electric Engineering de Beijing (Chinese Academy of Sciences)

2007


2006

2005

2003

2002

















Giorgio MargaritondoDuring the Swiss Physical Society meeting in Basel in June this year Erik van Heumen was presented with an SPS Award for Condensed Matter Physics, sponsored by IBM for his researches on superconductivity. Erik van Heumen is a Dutch citizen and gained his PhD thesis in the department of Condensed Matter Physics at the University of Geneva. He has now returned to the University of Amsterdam.



Giorgio Margaritondo is the recipient of the 2003 SKORE-A (SwGiorgio Margaritondoiss-Korean Outstanding Research Efforts Award) - jointly with Professor Jung Ho Je of the Postech Institute of Science and Technology (POSTECH) - for a longstanding collaboration on «Coherent X-ray Imaging in Medicine and Materials Science». The prize was presented at a ceremony in Bern by State Secretary Charles Kleiber for Switzerland and Professor Ho-Koon Park, Korean minister for Science and Technology. In the framework of this collaboration, a Swiss-Korean-Taiwanese beamline was recently inaugurated at the Pohang synchrotron source. This facility is now open to all MaNEP members.


Yuxing Wang and Frédéric Bouquet from the group of Prof. Junod (Y. Wang and F. BouquetUniversity of Geneva) received the Swiss Physical Society Award 2003 for Condensed Matter Physics, sponsored by IBM, for their work on the new superconductor MgB2. Their thermodynamic studies gave very early a strong support to the now well-accepted “two-band” model. They also addressed the important issue of interband scattering effects on this model, using neutron irradiation to artificially introduce disorder in this material. As a result of the irradiation process, the upper critical field was increased from 18 to 28 T. This enhancement is potentially interesting for future applications.


Luca PerfettiLuca Perfetti was selected by the EPFL as the recipient of the 2002 Prize for the best PhD thesis. The award ceremony will take place during the «Journée de la Science» on November 28, 2003.
This prestigious prize recognized the excellent level of Perfetti’s work on photoemission spectroscopy of highly correlated systems, entitled «Angle-resolved Electron Spectroscopy of Strongly Correlated Electron-Phonon Systems». This research discovered several unexpected properties of low-dimensional solids by using photoemission spectroscopy at high resolution and an innovative theoretical analysis. Photoelectron spectroscopy of strongly correlated systems has been since the beginning an important component of MaNEP.


Joël MesotJoël Mesot has been awarded the Latsis Prize 2002 of the ETH Zurich for his achievements in the field of neutron and photoemission spectroscopy applied to high-temperature superconductors. For this purpose he designed and realised at the Laboratory for Neutron Scattering of the Paul Scherrer Institute and ETH Zurich a novel spectrometer allowing to measure with great precision the magnetic and lattice excitations in solid-state materials. In particular, together with his collaborators he could show the existence of a subtle interplay between the magnetic and electronic degrees of freedom, which is an important result toward the understanding of high-temperature superconductivity.


Pascal RuffieuxPascal Ruffieux from the group of Prof. Schlapbach (Univ. of Fribourg) received the Charmey Prize 2002 awarding his excellent PhD thesis. For the realization of molecule-based electronic devices and in particular carbon-based materials the understanding and control of intermolecular and molecule-substrate interactions are crucial. He investigated the interaction of hydrogen with sp2-bonded carbon with respect to the energy barrier for the chemisorption of hydrogen and the changes in the local electronic structure. Among other important results, he could demonstrate that the energy barrier for chemically binding hydrogen to carbon decreases with increasing curvature of the substrate.



Prof. Oystein Fischer, MaNEP's director received this Norvegian prize (created in 2001 and awarded every second year) for his groundbreaking works in superconductivity. The ceremony took place on Friday April 8, 2005 in Kjeller, near Oslo, in the presence of the minister of Education and Research Kristin Clemet.
[
More information here ]



Dr Peter Armitage is a postdoctoral scientist in Prof. van der Marel's group (UniGE) since September 2004 ; he has been awarded the McMillan Prize 2005 for his work on electron doped cuprates using angle resolved photoemission. This prestigious annual international award from the University of Illinois is presented to a young condensed matter physicist, within 5 years of the PhD, for distinguished accomplisments.




Prof. René Flükiger received an IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) Award On September 19, for 'significant and sustained contributions to applied superconductivity'. The ceremony took place in Genoa, Italy, at the International Conference on Magnet Technology. Prof. Flükiger was presented with an inscribed plaque and a medallion, made of niobium, recognizing his selection for this very prestigious award.
[
More information here]

Sebastian PilgramSebastian Pilgram, as we learn in the last SPS Bulletin, is this year's recipient of the IBM Award of the SPS for a new theoretical approach providing a semi-classical theory which determines the conductance, shot noise and all higher order current-correlations of small electrical conductors. This work was done while at the Department of theoretical physics in Geneva. Dr Pilgram is now part of the Mobile Postdoc Program of MaNEP. As such, he works on a joint project with Prof. Manfred Sigrist at ETHZ and Prof. Frédéric Mila at EPFL.

Prof. Albert FurrerProf. Albert Furrer (ETH Zurich and Paul Scherrer Institute) is the former head of the Laboratory for Neutron Scattering (LNS) and member of MaNEP. He has been awarded the prestigious Walter Hälg Prize of the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA), jointly with Prof. Hans Ulrich Güdel (University of Bern). The 2005 Prize will be presented during the International Conference on Neutron Scattering in Sidney, between November 27 and December 2. The ENSA Prize is awarded every two years to European scientists for an outstanding programme of research in neutron scattering with a long term impact on scientific and/or technical applications.
[
download the Pres Release in PDF for more infos]
[
more infos on Prof. Albert Furrer on the ENSA website]


prof. fischerProf. Oystein Fischer received a Honoris Causa Doctorate during the Dies Academicus of the University of Neuchatel that took place on Saturday November 5, 2005 - in the presence of Charles Kleiber, the State Secretary for Education and Research. With this gesture, the press release says, '... the Faculty of Sciences wishes to honour a world-known physicist for his fundamental contributions to the understanding of condensed matter physics and for the close collaboration he has maintained with the research groups at the Institute of Physics of the UniNE that are working in this field (...) '


Dr Patrycja Paruch (University of Geneva - DPMC) received the IBM Prize for condensed matter physics on Monday February 13, during the annual 2006 SPS meeting at EPFL. She has now taken up a post doc position at the University of Cornell (USA).
[SPS press release (in German) : click here]
[MaNEP press release (in French) : click here]

Dr Christian Rüegg (PSI) received the ABB Prize for general physics,
at the 2006 SPS Meeting. He has now taken up a post doc position at the London University College.
[SPS press release (in German) : click here]
[MaNEP press release (in French) : click here]


Prof. Jean-Marc Triscone, MaNEP's Deputy Director and renowned ferrolectricsProf. Jean-Marc Triscone specialist, who has been appointed« Fellow of the American Physical Society ».This honour is reserved to less than 1% of the members of the APS. The official ceremony took place in Baltimore, on Tuesday March 14, 2006. Read the news (in French) on the UNIGE website : [ click here]

Dr Céline LichtensteigerA former PhD student in Prof. Jean-Marc Triscone's group (DPMC - UniGE), she wrote an excellent thesis on ferroelectrics, this spring. Dr Céline Lichtensteiger's workentitled Ferroelectricity at the Nanoscale : Study of Size Effects in Lead Titanate Thin Films has been acknowledged by the prestigious Vacheron Constantin Prize for physics. Céline (on the picture with Juan-Carlos Torres, the firm's CEO) received a beautiful watch during the ceremony that took place on Friday, June 23, at the firm's factory in Plan-Les-Ouates (in Geneva).
Since 1948, the firm rewards students from the Science Faculty of Geneva by awarding the prize in turn in mathematics, astronomy and physics.


Dr Henrik Ronnow received the first Lewy-Bertaut prize awarded by the European Crystallographic Association and European Neutron Scattering Association.


Nicolas Reyren, Andrea Caviglia and Stefano Gariglio have recently received the Swiss Physical Society (SPS) OC Oerlikon award (one of the SPS prize) for the exceptional quality of their work on the superconducting interfaces.


The “Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical” has announced Vivien Lecomte, Julien Tailleur and Jorge Kurchan, as winners of the 2009 Best Paper Prize. The paper, entitled “Mapping out-of-equilibrium into equilibrium in one-dimensional transport models”,was chosen as it excelled in novelty, achievement, potential impact and presentation.
read the article ]


University of Geneva, trough its technology transfer service called Unitec, has a new fund, Unigap, which aims to help researchers to bring their scientific discoveries to practical applications. Prof. Christoph Renner, MaNEP deputy director, is one of the first two researchers to have benefited from this fund, with the "Piezo-pinch" technology, allowing one to measure deformations at a nanometre scale using an electrical resistance measurement. It is a particularly sensitive sensor that could be applied in various sectors. "Piezo-Pinch" has been co-invented by: Prof. Christoph Renner, Alistair Rowe (Ecole Polytechnique de Palaiseau) and Steve Arscott (Institut d’électronique de microélectronique et de nanotechnologie de Lille).

Haut de page

Uni GE
NCCR MaNEP 24, quai Ernest Ansermet CH-1211 Geneva 4
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR)
are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation
FNSNF
 
Web design by JCP

MaNEP Switzerland
Exploring electronic materials of the future
MaNEP
Home
Profile
Research
Industry
Education
Publications
Events



Prix scientifiques

2012

  • Janphuang Pattanaphong, reçoit le Best student paper award de PowerMEMS 2012, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Fiebig Manfred, est nommé APS Fellowship, Boston, USA
  • Thierry Giamarch est désigné Distinguished Referee de l'EPL, Suisse
  • Christof Niedermayer est nommé Visiting Professorship, University of Connecticut, USA
  • Kanter Jakob, reçoit le Best Poster Award, The 19th Intern. Conf. on Magnetism, Busan, Korea
  • Sagarna Leyre, obtient le DTG Preis, Freburg Breisgau

2011

  • René Flukiger obtient le Life Achivement Award de la part de la International Cryogenic Materials Conference, USA
  • Leander Schulz reçoit le IBM Prize de la Société Suisse de Physique
  • Matthias Troyer obtient un ERC Advanced Grant
  • Gianni Blatter est nommé "Outstanding Referee" par l'American Physical Society
  • Don Isarakon reçoit le Prix de la Ville de la Chaux-de-Fonds 2011
  • Pierre Bouillot obtient le Prix J. Wurth pour la meilleure thèse en Physique
  • Christof Niedermayer est nommé Visiting Professor de l'Université du Connecticut
  • Manfred Sigrist est désigné Camarade par the American Physical Society
  • Pavlo Zubko reçoit le ISIF 2011 Presentation Prize, Cambridge, UK
  • Angelika Veziridis reçoit le prix de l'Article de l'année – Energy 2.0 Kompendium Neue Materialien für Thermoelektrische Generatoren
  • Lassi Karvonen obtient le Poster Award pour celui de l'International Discussion Meeting on Thermoelectrics and Related Functional Materials, Finland
  • Anke Weidenkaff reçoit le Kavli Foundation Award, Fred Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanoscience, Nice, France
  • David Schmidiger reçoit la ETH Medal ainsi que le Willi Studer Prize pour son Master Thesis, Zurich

2010

  • Danick Briand obtient le Eurosensors Fellowship Award
  • Øystein Fischer nommé comme membre d'honneur de la Société Suisse de Physique
  • Ying Zhou reçoit le Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad
  • Ying Zhou obtient le Chemistry Travel Award
  • Ying Zhou obtient le prix de T. S. Ke Research Fellowship
  • Sigrun Köster reçoit le Subside tremplin de l'Université de Genève
  • Thierry Giamarchi nommé “Outstanding Referee” de l’American Physical Society
  • Philipp Werner obtient l’International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics
  • Erik van Heumen reçoit le Prix de la SSP pour la Physique de la Matière Condensée, parrainé par IBM
  • Martin Mourigal reçoit le Director's award for best student presentation
  • L. Forro est élu à la Croatian Academy of Sciences

2009


2008

  • Le Professeur René Flükiger est nommé Professeur invité à l’Institut d’ingénierie électrique de Pékin (Académie des sciences chinoise)

2007


2006

2005

2003

2002

















Giorgio MargaritondoEn juin dernier, lors du dernier meeting de la Société Suisse de Physique, à Bâle, Erik van Heumen a reçu le prix de la SSP pour la Physique de la Matière Condensée, parrainé par IBM, pour ses travaux sur la supraconductivité. Erik van Heumen est néerlandais et a obtenu sa thèse de doctorat dans le Département de Physique de la Matière Condensée à l'Université de Genève. Il est maintenant de retour à l'Université d'Amsterdam.



Giorgio Margaritondo est le lauréat du Prix SKORE-A 2003Giorgio Margaritondo2003 (récompense des travaux de recherche helvéto-coréens exceptionnels), qu’il partage avec le Professeur Jung Ho Je de l’Institut des Sciences et technologies de Postech (POSTECH) – a la suite d'une collaboration de longue date sur « l’imagerie par rayons X dans la médecine et la science des matériaux ». Ce Prix a été décerné, lors d’une cérémonie a Berne, par le Secrétaire d'État Charles Kleiber pour la Suisse et le Professeur Ho-Koon Park, Ministre coréen de la science et de la technologie. Dans le cadre de cette collaboration, un faisceau, fruit de la collaboration de la Suisse, de la Corée et de Taiwan a été inauguré récemment dans le synchrotron de Pohang. Ce site est désormais ouvert a tous les membres de MaNEP.


Yuxing Wang et Frédéric Bouquet de l’équipe du Prof. JunodY. Wang and F. Bouquet (Université de Geneve) ont reçu le Prix 2003 de physique de la matiere condensée, décerné par la Société de physique suisse, parrainé par IBM, pour leurs travaux sur le nouveau supraconducteur MgB2. Leurs études de thermodynamique ont tres rapidement apporté une contribution efficace au modele « deux bandes » désormais bien accepté. Elles se sont également intéressées a la question majeure des effets de la transition interbande sur ce modele, en utilisant l’irradiation des neutrons pour ajouter artificiellement du désordre dans ce matériau. A la suite du processus d’irradiation, le champ critique supérieur est passé de 18 a 28 T. Cette augmentation peut etre intéressante pour de futures applications.


Luca PerfettiLe Prix 2002 de la meilleure thèse de doctorat a été décerné par l’EPFL à Luca Perfetti La cérémonie de remise de prix aura lieu lors de la « Journée de la Science » le 28 novembre 2003.
Ce prix prestigieux récompense l'exceptionnelle qualité des travaux de L. Perfetti sur la spectroscopie de photoémission des systemes fortement corrélés, intitulés « Spectroscopie des électrons a résolution angulaire des systemes électrons-phonons fortement corrélés ». Cette étude a mis en évidence plusieurs propriétés inattendues de solides de faible dimension en utilisant la spectroscopie de photoémission a haute résolution et une analyse théorique innovante. La spectroscopie photoélectronique des systemes fortement corrélés a été, des le départ, un domaine de recherche important de MaNEP.


Joël MesotJoël Mesot a reçu le Prix Latsis 2002 de l’EPF Zurich pour ses travaux dans le domaine de la spectroscopie neutronique et de la spectroscopie de photoémission appliquées aux supraconducteurs a haute température. Il a, en effet, conçu et réalisé au Laboratoire de diffraction neutronique de l'Institut Paul Scherrer et a l’EPF Zurich un nouveau spectrometre permettant de mesurer avec une grande précision les excitations magnétiques et moléculaires des matériaux a l’état solide. Avec ses collaborateurs, il a notamment démontré l’existence d’une interaction subtile entre les degrés de liberté magnétiques et électroniques, ce qui permet de mieux comprendre la supraconductivité a haute température.


Pascal RuffieuxPascal Ruffieux de l’équipe du Professeur Schlapbach (Université de Fribourg) a reçu le Prix Charmey 2002, qui récompense sa remarquable these de doctorat. Pour la réalisation de systemes électroniques moléculaires et notamment de matériaux carbonés, la compréhension et le contrôle des interactions intermoléculaires et des interactions molécule-substrat sont déterminants. Il a étudié l’interaction de l’hydrogene avec le carbone lié sp2, par rapport a la barriere énergétique contre la chimisorption de l’hydrogene et les changements de la structure électronique locale. Parmi ses résultats importants, il a pu démontrer que la barriere énergétique de la liaison chimique de l'hydrogene et du carbone diminue avec l'augmentation de la courbure du substrat.



Le professeur Oystein Fischer, le Directeur de MaNEP, a reçu le Prix norvégien (créé en 2001 et attribué tous les deux ans) pour ses travaux révolutionnaires sur la supraconductivité. La cérémonie a eu lieu le vendredi 8 avril 2005 a Kjeller, pres d’Oslo, en présence du Ministre de l’éducation et de la recherche Kristin Clemet.
[Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici]



Le Dr Peter Armitage est un chercheur postdoctoral faisant partie de l’équipe du professeur van der Marel (UniGE) depuis septembre 2004 ; il a reçu le Prix McMillan pour ses travaux sur les cuprates dopés en électrons a partir de la photoémission a résolution d'angle. Cette prestigieuse récompense internationale, attribuée chaque année par l’Université d’Illinois, est décernée a un jeune physicien de la matiere condensée, dans les cinq années suivant son doctorat, pour la qualité de ses travaux remarquables.




Le professeur René Flükiger a reçu une récompense de l’IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) le 19 septembre pour sa « contribution significative et durable a la supraconductivité appliquée ». La cérémonie a eu lieu a Genes en Italie, lors de la Conférence internationale sur la technologie des aimants. Le professeur Flückiger a reçu une plaque gravée et une médaille, en niobium, en témoignage de cette prestigieuse récompense.
[Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici]

Sebastian PilgramComme nous l’avons appris dans le dernier bulletin SPS, Sebastian Pilgram est, cette année, le lauréat du Prix IBM de la SPS pour sa nouvelle approche théorique proposant une théorie semi-classique de détermination de la conductance, du bruit de grenaille et toutes les corrélations de courant d’ordre supérieur des conducteurs électriques de petite taille. Ces travaux ont été réalisés lorsqu'il travaillait au Département de physique théorique de Geneve. Le Dr Pilgram fait désormais partie du programme de mobilité postdoctoral de MaNEP. A ce titre, il travaille sur un projet en collaboration avec le professeur Manfred Sigrist de l’EPFZ et le Professeur Frédéric Mila de l’EPFL.

Prof. Albert FurrerLe professeur Albert Furrer (EPF Zurich et Institut Paul Scherrer) est l’ancien Directeur du laboratoire de diffraction neutronique (LNS) et membre de MaNEP. Il a reçu le prestigieux Walter Hälg de l’Association européenne de diffraction neutronique (ENSA), qu’il partage avec le professeur Hans Ulrich Güdel (Université de Berne). Le Prix 2005 lui a été remis au cours d’une Conférence internationale sur la diffraction neutronique organisée a Sydney, entre le 27 novembre et le 2 décembre. Le Prix ENSA est décerné tous les deux ans a des chercheurs européens pour un programme de recherche exceptionnel dans le domaine de la diffraction neutronique, ayant des effets a long terme sur des applications scientifiques et/ou techniques.
[
Télécharger le communiqué de presse en PDF pour plus d’informations]
[
En savoir plus sur le Professeur Albert Furrer sur le site Web de ENSA]


prof. fischerLe professeur Oystein Fischer a reçu le titre de Docteur honoris causa lors des journées Dies Academicus de l’Université de Neuchâtel, qui ont eu lieu le samedi 5 novembre 2005, en présence de Charles Kleiber, Secrétaire d’État a l’éducation et a la recherche. Par cette distinction, explique le communiqué de presse, « ... la Faculté des Sciences souhaite honorer un physicien renommé pour sa contribution fondamentale a la compréhension de la physique de la matiere condensée et pour les liens étroits qu'il a noués avec des équipes de recherche de l’Institut de physique de l’Université de Neuchâtel, qui travaillent dans ce domaine (...) ».


Le Dr Patrycja Paruch (Université de Geneve - DPMC) a reçu le Prix IBM pour ses travaux sur la physique de la matiere condensée, le lundi 13 février 2006, lors de la réunion annuelle 2006 de la SPS qui s’est tenue a l’EPFL. Elle occupe désormais la fonction de postdoctorante a l'Université de Cornell (États-Unis).
[communiqué de presse SPS (en allemand) : cliquez ici]
[communiqué de presse MaNEP (en français) : cliquez ici]

Le Dr Christian Rüegg (PSI) a reçu le prix de physique générale d'ABB, lors de la réunion annuelle 2006 de la SPS. Il est actuellement chercheur postdoctorant a l’University College de Londres.
[communiqué de presse SPS (en allemand) : cliquez ici]
[communiqué de presse MaNEP (en français) : cliquez ici]


Le professeur Jean-Marc Triscone, Directeur adjoint de MaNEP et spécialiste Prof. Jean-Marc Trisconerenommé de la ferroélectricité, a été nommé Membre (Fellow) de la Société américaine de physique (APS). Cet honneur est réservé a moins d'un pour cent des membres de l'APS. La cérémonie officielle a eu lieu a Baltimore, le mardi 14 mars 2006. Lire les informations sur le site Web de l’UNIGE [ cliquez ici]

Dr Céline LichtensteigerAncienne étudiante de doctorat du groupe du Professeur Jean-Marc Triscone (DPMC - UniGE), elle a rédigé, au printemps, une these remarquable sur la ferroélectricité. Les travaux du Dr Céline Lichtensteiger intitulés Ferroélectricité a l’échelle nanoscopique : Étude des effets de taille dans des films minces de titanate de plomb ont été récompensés par le prestigieux Prix de physique Vacheron Constantin. Céline (sur la photo avec Juan-Carlos Torres, le PDG de la société) a reçu une superbe montre lors de la remise du Prix qui s’est déroulée le vendredi 23 juin, a Plan-Les-Ouates (Geneve). Depuis 1948, cette société récompense des étudiants de la Faculté des sciences de Geneve, par l’attribution d’un Prix en mathématique, astronomie et physique.


Le Dr Henrik Ronnow a reçu le Prix Lewy-Bertaut décerné par l'Association européenne de cristallographie et par l’Association européenne de diffraction neutronique.


Nicolas Reyren, Andrea Caviglia et Stefano Gariglio ont reçu récemment le prix de la Société Suisse de Physique (SSP) OC Oerlikon (un des prix de la SSP) pour la qualité exceptionnelle de leur travail sur les interfaces supraconductrices.


Le “Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical” a annoncé Vivien Lecomte, Julien Tailleur and Jorge Kurchan, comme étant les récipiendaires du prix du meilleur article de l’année. L’article intitulé “Mapping out-of-equilibrium into equilibrium in one-dimensional transport models”, a été choisi parce qu’il excelle de par son innovation, sa réussite son impact potentiel et sa présentation.  
lire l’article ]


L’Université de Genève, à travers son service de transfert de technologie, Unitec, a un nouveau fonds, Unigap, dont l’objectif est d’aider les chercheurs à transformer leurs découvertes scientifiques en applications pratiques. Le Prof. Christoph Renner, directeur adjoint de MaNEP, est l’un des deux premiers chercheurs à avoir bénéficié de ce fonds avec la technologie "Piezo-pinch" qui permet de mesurer des déformations à l’échelle du nanomètre en utilisant une simple mesure de résistance électrique. Il s’agit d’un senseur particulièrement sensible qui peut être appliqué à de nombreux secteurs. "Piezo-Pinch" a été co-inventé par le Prof. Christoph Renner, Alistair Rowe (Ecole Polytechnique de Palaiseau) et Steve Arscott (Institut d’électronique de microélectronique et de nanotechnologie de Lille).

Haut de page

Uni GE
PRN MaNEP – 24, quai Ernest Ansermet – CH-1211 Geneva 4
Les Pôles de recherche nationaux (PRN)
sont des instruments de recherche du Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique.
FNSNF
 
Web design by JCP