MaNEP Switzerland
Exploring electronic materials of the future
MaNEP
Home
Profile
Research
Industry
Education
Publications
Events


Neutrons Probing Matter

Introduction
Merkur
Neutron Tomography
Neutron tomographic view of the Roman bronze sculpture „Mercur from Thalwil“, an important exhibit of the Swiss National Museum (Zurich).

To use neutrons for this non-destructive investigation is mandatory due to the high lead content of the alloy, which makes the common X-ray techniques impossible to apply. The data were produced at the NEUTRA station of the Swiss spallation neutron source SINQ (PSI Villigen). http://neutra.web.psi.ch/

Regions showing high-degrees of corrosion are shown in red.

Image: Courtesy of Dr. Eberhard Lehman. .
Chadwick
Sir James Chadwick, 1935 Nobel prize.

Source Gonville & Caius College Web Site, Cambridge.

Almost everybody knows that neutrons are one of the three basic constituents of matter besides electrons and protons. It is however less widely known that neutron beams can be used to probe the structure and the dynamics of matter. Neutrons allow the investigation of a wide range of fundamental properties in various fields from physics and chemistry through materials science to biology, medicine and even environmental sciences. The arrival of SwissNeutronics within the MaNEP network has motivated us to present some basic information on neutrons and also some recent scientific activities of MaNEP scientists at the Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI) where a continuous neutron source is available.

Today's Applications
Neutron Scattering is not only used for fundamental studies in physics but also has numerous other applications. For example, neutrons can probe deep into the materials involved in aircraft engineering to give microscopic insights into the constraints affecting the operational lifetimes of these components. Similarly, neutron tomography allows for interesting investigations (see picture besides). Neutron scattering also improves our understanding of disordered crystalline materials, such as glasses and liquids, which are central to optical communication, chemical and biochemical engineering, food sciences, the pharmaceutical industry and molecular biology.

See most recent results at http://sinq.web.psi.ch/

History of sciences: The Neutron Discoverer
James Chadwick (1891-1974) was an English physicist educated at the Universities of Manchester and Cambridge who also studied under Hans Geiger at the Technische Hochschule in Berlin. From 1923 he worked with Ernest Rutherford at the Cavendish Laboratory in Cambridge, studying the transmutation of elements by bombarding them with alpha particles. They investigated the nature of the atomic nucleus, identifying the proton (the nucleus of the hydrogen atom) as a constituent of the nuclei of other atoms. In 1932, Chadwick made a fundamental discovery in the domain of nuclear science: he proved the existence of neutrons.
Chadwick observed that beryllium, when exposed to bombardment by alpha particles, released an unknown radiation that in turn ejected protons from the nuclei of various substances. Chadwick interpreted this radiation as being composed of particles of mass approximately equal to that of the proton, but without electrical charge: neutrons (see below). This discovery provided a new tool for inducing atomic disintegration since neutrons, being electrically uncharged, can penetrate undeflected into the atomic nucleus. Chadwick received numerous prizes and won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1935; he was also knighted in 1945.
Adapted from Encyclopædia Britannica and Nobel Lectures, Elsevier.

What is a Neutron
A neutron is an electrically neutral subatomic particle with approximately the mass of a proton which is commonly found in the nuclei of all atoms (except hydrogen).
Neutron Sources
The way to obtain free neutrons is not straightforward since one needs to break the nuclear forces. Neutron beams can be produced from nuclear fission reactors (for example at the Laue Langevin Institute in Grenoble) or may be obtained when a proton beam hits a heavy metal target (for example the spallation neutron source SINQ at PSI). A spallation source has the advantage of delivering an extremely intense neutron beam with low heat production in contrast to traditional reactor sources which suffer from intense heat production in the reactor core.
Neutron Guides
Neutron guides are needed to bring neutrons from the source to the experiment site. Similarly to light mirrors, neutron guides are made of glass with polished surfaces, coated with special neutron reflecting materials such as Ni-Ti supermirrors. They allow intense neutron beams to be transported over long distances with low neutron losses.

See the neutron guide concept of SwissNeutronics.

Why are Neutrons a Versatile Probe
Neutron beams are a type of radiation with properties that make them an extremely versatile and unique analytical probe as explained below.
Seeing Inside Matter
Due to their neutral character, neutrons can penetrate matter with almost no attenuation (only a few elements can attenuate neutron beams) and in a non-destructive way, thereby giving access to its properties. Neutrons interact differently with each component inside matter allowing for high contrast imaging between elements of similar nature. Furthermore neutrons have a wavelength of the order of the distance between atoms. This allows them to "see" matter in the 0.1-100nm range, ena-bling the investigation of crystal structures and microstructures of materials.
Sensing Magnetism
Neutrons have an intrinsic magnetic nature (spin) which leads to a very high sensitivity to the magnetic properties of matter.
Feeling Vibrations
Neutrons interact with moving atoms inside matter, thus changing their speed and direction and allowing us to probe and measure the dynamic properties of matter.

Read the scientific article of the newsletter Nr 7.

Neutron Scattering
The way neutrons diffuse through matter depends on the physical properties of the materials investigated. This allows for investigations inside materials (in contrast with surface sensitive probes); such analyses are commonly referred as neutron scattering techniques. Bertram Brockhouse and Clifford Shull received the 1994 Nobel Prize in Physics for pioneering contributions to their development.
In simple terms, neutron scattering experiments help answer where atoms "are" and what atoms "do".


Uni GE
NCCR MaNEP 24, quai Ernest Ansermet CH-1211 Geneva 4
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR)
are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation
FNSNF
 
Web design by JCP

MaNEP Switzerland
Exploring electronic materials of the future
MaNEP
Home
Profile
Research
Industry
Education
Publications
Events


Les neutrons explorent la matière

Introduction
Merkur
La tomographie par neutrons
Image tomographique de la sculpture romaine en bronze « Mercure de Thalwil », une exposition importante du Musée national suisse à Zurich.

Il est obligatoire d’utiliser des neutrons pour cette analyse non destructrice, car l’alliage est très riche en plomb. Les techniques usuelles de radiologie ne peuvent donc pas etre appliquées. Ces données ont été obtenues au centre de radiographie NEUTRA de la source de neutrons de spallation SINQ en Suisse (PSI à Villigen). http://neutra.web.psi.ch/

Regions showing high-degrees of corrosion are shown in red.

Image: Courtesy of Dr. Eberhard Lehman. .
Chadwick
Sir James Chadwick, 1935 Nobel prize.

Source Gonville & Caius College Web Site, Cambridge.

Presque tout le monde sait que les neutrons sont l’un des trois constituants élémentaires de la matière, avec les électrons et les protons. Toutefois, on a tendance à ignorer que les faisceaux de neutrons peuvent etre utilisés pour examiner la structure et la dynamique de la matière. Les neutrons permettent d’étudier un grand nombre de propriétés fondamentales dans plusieurs domaines, aussi bien en physique et en chimie, en science des matériaux, en biologie, en médecine qu’en sciences environnementales. L’intégration de la SwissNeutronics au réseau MaNEP nous a incités à présenter quelques informations élémentaires sur les neutrons, ainsi que quelques-uns des travaux effectués récemment par les scientifiques MaNEP à l’Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI), ou une source continue de neutrons est disponible.

Les applications actuelles
La diffusion neutronique est non seulement utilisée dans le cadre de recherches fondamentales en physique, mais elle a aussi de très nombreuses autres applications. Par exemple, les neutrons peuvent explorer en profondeur les matériaux servant à construire les avions. On peut ainsi voir à l’échelle microscopique ce qui influe sur les durées de fonctionnement de ces composants. De meme, la tomographie par neutrons permet d’effectuer des analyses intéressantes (voir image ci-contre). La diffusion neutronique améliore également notre connaissance des matériaux cristallins désordonnés, tels que les verres et les liquides, qui sont au centre de la communication optique, du génie chimique et biochimique, de la bromatologie, de l’industrie pharmaceutique et de la biologie moléculaire.

Consulter les résultats les plus récents sur http://sinq.web.psi.ch/

Histoire des sciences : L’homme qui découvrit le neutron
James Chadwick (1891-1974), physicien anglais, fit ses études à l’Université de Manchester et de Cambridge, et fut également l’élève de Hans Geiger à la Technische Hochschule à Berlin. À partir de 1923, il travailla avec Ernest Rutherford au laboratoire de Cavendish, à Cambridge, ou il étudia la transmutation des éléments suite à leur bombardement par des particules alpha. Ils analysèrent la nature des noyaux atomiques et découvrirent que le proton (le noyau de l’atome d’hydrogène) est l’un des constituants du noyau des autres atomes. En 1932, J. Chadwick fit une découverte fondamentale dans le domaine des sciences nucléaires : il prouva l’existence des neutrons.
J. Chadwick remarqua que le bombardement du béryllium par des particules alpha provoquait un rayonnement inconnu qui, à son tour, éjectait des protons provenant du noyau de plusieurs substances. J. Chadwick en conclut que ce rayonnement était composé de particules de masse plus ou moins égale à celle du proton, qui n’avaient cependant aucune charge électrique : les neutrons (voir ci-dessous). Cette découverte permit de provoquer des désintégrations atomiques puisque les neutrons, qui ne sont pas chargés électriquement, peuvent pénétrer dans le noyau atomique sans dévier de trajectoire. J. Chadwick reçut de nombreux prix et remporta le Prix Nobel de physique en 1935. Il fut également fait chevalier en 1945.
Article adapté de l’ Encyclopadia Britannica et des Nobel Lectures, publiées par Elsevier.

Qu’est-ce qu’un neutron ?
Un neutron est une particule subatomique électriquement neutre de masse plus ou moins égale à celle d’un proton qui se trouve généralement dans le noyau de tous les atomes (à l’exception de l’hydrogène).
Les sources de neutrons
Il est difficile d’obtenir des neutrons libres puisqu’il est pour cela nécessaire de rompre les forces nucléaires. Les faisceaux de neutrons peuvent etre produits par des réacteurs à fission nucléaire (par exemple à l’Institut Laue-Langevin à Grenoble) ou etre obtenus en bombardant une cible en métal lourd avec un faisceau de protons, comme la Source de Neutrons de Spallation (SINQ), située au PSI. Une source de spallation a l’avantage de générer un faisceau de neutrons extremement intense qui produit peu de chaleur, à la différence des sources traditionnelles d’énergie des réacteurs dont l’inconvénient est de dégager une chaleur extreme au cour du réacteur.
Les guides de neutrons
Les guides de neutrons sont nécessaires pour transporter ces derniers de la source jusqu’au matériau expérimental. Tout comme les miroirs lumineux, les guides de neutrons sont en verre poli recouvert de matériaux spéciaux réfléchissant les neutrons, tels que les supermiroirs Ni/Ti. Ils permettent de transporter des faisceaux de neutrons intenses sur de longues distances tout en garantissant une perte de neutrons minime.

Voir le concept de guide de neutrons mis au point par SwissNeutronics.

Pourquoi les neutrons constituent-ils une sonde polyvalente ?
Le type de rayonnement que produisent les faisceaux de neutrons a des propriétés qui font d’eux une sonde analytique extremement polyvalente et unique, comme il est expliqué ci-dessous.
Voir l’intérieur de la matière
Grâce à leur neutralité, les neutrons peuvent pénétrer la matière sans la détruire et sans presque aucune atténuation (seuls quelques éléments peuvent atténuer les faisceaux de neutrons), et nous donner ainsi accès à ses propriétés. Les neutrons interagissent différemment avec chacun des composants présents à l’intérieur de la matière. Ainsi, des éléments de nature similaire présentent des images très contrastées. Par ailleurs, les neutrons ont une longueur d’onde quasi équivalente à la distance entre les atomes. Ceci leur permet de « voir » la matière dans un rayon de 0,1 à 100 nm, et d’étudier les structures cristallines et la microstructure des matériaux.
Ressentir le magnétisme
Les neutrons possèdent un moment magnétique intrinsèque (nommé spin) qui les rend extremement sensibles aux propriétés magnétiques de la matière.
Sentir les vibrations
Les neutrons interagissent avec les atomes en mouvement à l’intérieur de la matière. Ils changent ainsi de vitesse et de direction, ce qui nous permet d’examiner et de mesurer les propriétés dynamiques de la matière.

Lire l’article scientifique de la lettre d’informations no 7.

La diffusion neutronique
La façon dont les neutrons se répandent dans la matière dépend des propriétés physiques des matériaux étudiés. Il est par conséquent possible d’explorer l’intérieur de ces matériaux (à la différence des sondes de surface). De telles analyses sont généralement connues sous le nom de « techniques de diffusion neutronique ». Bertram Brockhouse et Clifford Shull reçurent en 1994 le Prix Nobel de physique pour avoir contribué à de grandes avancées dans le développement de ces techniques.
En termes simples, les expériences sur la diffusion neutronique permettent de déterminer ou « sont » les atomes et ce qu’ils « font ».


Uni GE
PRN MaNEP – 24, quai Ernest Ansermet – CH-1211 Geneva 4
Les Pôles de recherche nationaux (PRN)
sont des instruments de recherche du Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique.
FNSNF
 
Web design by JCP