MaNEP Switzerland
Exploring electronic materials of the future
MaNEP
Home
Profile
Research
Industry
Education
Publications
Events



Applications

At MaNEP, we develop materials with a view towards end-user applications.
Our efforts benefit from direct feedback from our industry partners.


End-user markets

Telecoms
The telecoms market is following two trends: miniaturization and broad band usage. The materials we are developing will allow fulfilling the needs of both with applications such as high-density memories and high-frequency filters (GHz and beyond which corresponds to 3G and 4G telecom networks).
High density memories
By polarizing ferroelectrics at the nanoscale, we are able to create new memory devices with a density of up to 150 Gb/cm2 (factor 3000 denser than a DVD).
Medtech
NMR imaging requires the use of superconducting wires to generate strong and steady electro-magnetic fields. At MaNEP, we develop such state-of-the art conductors.
Energy
Power grid breakdowns such as the one which took place in New York in 2006 have dramatic impact on infrastructures. At MaNEP, we develop new superconducting devices which help absorb short circuits associated with such breakdowns (fault current limiter developed in collaboration with ABB).
Environment
The magnetic field of the earth is a very good vehicle to detect materials - sometimes pollutants - hidden in the earth crust. At MaNEP, we develop very sensitive materials to measure variations of small magnetic fields.
Security
Cryptography is becoming more and more critical to secure confidential communications. At MaNEP, we are developing a superconducting device which improves the performance of latest generation cryptography devices (ID Quantique, Geneva).
Uni GE
NCCR MaNEP 24, quai Ernest Ansermet CH-1211 Geneva 4
The National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR)
are a research instrument of the Swiss National Science Foundation
FNSNF
 
Web design by JCP

MaNEP Switzerland
Exploring electronic materials of the future
MaNEP
Home
Profile
Research
Industry
Education
Publications
Events



Applications

Au sein de MaNEP, nous développons des matériaux destinés à des applications concrètes. Nos efforts bénéficient d'un retour direct de nos partenaires industriels.


Marché des utilisateurs

Télécommunications
Le marché des télécommunications suit deux tendances : la miniaturisation et l'utilisation des bandes larges. Les matériaux que nous développons vont répondre aux besoins dans ces deux domaines avec des applications de type mémoires haute densité et filtres haute fréquence (au-delà du gigahertz, ce qui correspond à des réseaux télécoms 3G et 4 G).
Mémoires haute densité
En polarisant les matériaux ferroélectriques à l'échelle nanoscopique, nous sommes capables de créer de nouveaux dispositifs de stockage avec une densité pouvant atteindre 150 Gb/cm2 (soit 3000 fois plus dense qu'un DVD).
Medtech
L'imagerie par résonance magnétique nucléaire demande des bobines superconductrices pour générer des champs électromagnétiques puissants et stables. À MaNEP, nous développons des conducteurs de ce type à la pointe de la technologie.
Énergie
Les pannes du réseau électrique, comme celle qui a eu lieu à New York en 2006, ont un impact dramatique sur les infrastructures. À MaNEP, nous développons des dispositifs superconducteurs qui permettront d'absorber les courts-circuits associés à de telles pannes (limitateur de courant de défaut développé en collaboration avec ABB).
Environnement
Le champ magnétique de la Terre est un très bon médium pour détecter les matériaux - parfois des polluants - cachés dans l'écorce terrestre. À MaNEP, nous développons des matériaux très sensibles pour mesurer les variations de champs magnétiques faibles.
Sécurité
La cryptographie est de plus en plus importante pour assurer la confidentialité des communications. À MaNEP, nous développons un dispositif superconducteur qui améliore les performances des appareils de cryptographie de dernière génération. (ID Quantique, Genève).
Uni GE
PRN MaNEP – 24, quai Ernest Ansermet – CH-1211 Geneva 4
Les Pôles de recherche nationaux (PRN)
sont des instruments de recherche du Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique.
FNSNF
 
Web design by JCP